Classicamiga Forum Retro Edition
Thread: Flash games collection
Demon Cleaner 16:31 18th December 2023
I just came across this https://flashpointarchive.org/. A preservation site for flash games. I'm currently trying it out, you can either download the torrent, which is 1.4TB or you just install the Flashpoint 12.1 Infinity software and you will have to access to all the games. I just did an update and there are now 194.920 games in the archive. Only have to find some good ones, because as far as I remember most of the stuff is utter crap.
[Reply]
Harrison 15:27 20th December 2023
Nice find.

I used to be a Flash developer. Started using it whilst still at University when it was first launched as Macromedia Flash 3. Then when version 4 was released it added a full blown programing language to make it a full development environment, rather then just a 2D animation timeline creator. Then with my first job in a design agency post of my job as a New Media developer was to develop Flash projects. These ranges from interactive presentations to games. We even created our own 3D game engine within Flash for a Rugby game.

I was so sad then Flash declined and was then canceled. So sad Adobe didn't continue to develop it and change it to start using HTML5. The alternatives they have been developing are not even close and you can't do anything similar with them. It's like we have taken a big step back.

Anyway, I will definitely be taking a look at this and see if anything I know or was involved with is in here.
[Reply]
J T 04:08 21st December 2023
Home Run Rally on Lifesaver games (that's an American 'candy' brand) was dope. My mate and I spent ages on that in the computer lab in first year uni.

Pico's school (on Homegrounds) was neat.

Are either of those on there?

I can't remember all that many other flash games really.

But..... 1.4TB

- - - Updated - - -

I see there is a search on the website