Classicamiga Forum Retro Edition
1 2
Thread: Newbie help
1980-20.. 23:51 14th September 2009
Just signed up to classic amiga and like it so far very nice site. So the reason im here is that i never actualy owned an amiga but always wanted one, to the extent that i lied to my mates about geting one when i was a kid and they all lent me games to play on it when it arived. Needless to say it never arived and i had to do some backpedaling to get out of an awkward possition. Anyway i decided a few days ago to search through ebay and see what was there and bidded on a few items, nothing serios and lost out to higher bidders. My knowledge of the amiga is limited to games and the names of some of the systems but thats about it so any help to point me in the right direction would very much appreciated.

Ill probably only be using as a games system to start off with and im not very technicaly minded so small words is probably best thanks again and sorry if this is posted in wrong place.
[Reply]
Harrison 11:48 15th September 2009
Hi and welcome

The best Amiga model you should buy is the A1200. This has the most possibilities for gaming and is ideal if you later wish to take it further into more serious Amiga software.

The A1200 is also one of the most supported and expandable Amigas.

When looking for an A1200 the price you should expect to pay for a basic standard A1200 is about £40. But you would expect to pay more if it includes other things like extra ram installed (called fast ram), or a faster central processor and ram (called an accelerator). Extra included boxed games and other software will not however increase the price much.

As a basic A1200 without any extra hardware upgrades you need to load games from floppy disk. This works fine as most games were designed to be played this way. Make sure you get a joystick with the Amiga though as most games need one. The competition Pro or ZipStik are two of the best sticks if you can find one.